books and reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Janie Face to Face by Caroline B. Cooney

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

Janie Face to Face by Caroline B. Cooney

Expected Release Date: January  2013

In this riveting and emotional conclusion to the thriller-romance Janie series, that started with The Face on the Milk Carton, all will be revealed as readers find out if Janie and Reeve’s love has endured, and whether or not the person who brought Janie and her family so much emotional pain and suffering is brought to justice.

You knew this was coming, right? There was no way I could feature the Janie books in a post last week, mention the fact that a fifth book was being written, and not feature the fifth book as a WoW post. I’m anxious to get my hands on this one, not only because I just finished the other books and they’re fresh in my mind, but also because I’d really like to know how Janie’s story really, finally ends.

Recently, I read an interview with Cooney wherein she talked about how much mail she gets from readers asking if Janie and Reeve ever get married.  While I can see how this would have been the question weighing most heavily on my 13-year-old mind, now all I want to know is if Janie ever came face-to-face with Hannah. (Spoiler alert: based on the title alone, I’m guessing the answer is YES).  Okay, maybe I want to know if she married Reeve. And if she named her kids Denim and Lace, because how terrible/epic would that be?

What are you waiting on this week?