books and reading

Stand-Out Picture Books in July 2017

These are the picture books I read this month that were stand-outs to me. I try to only feature books that were published in 2017, but your mileage may vary.

31247841Triangle by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen (3/17): 

Triangle lives in a triangle-shaped house. One day, he decides to play a trick on Square, who lives in a square house. What results is a bare-bones narrative that’s darkly funny, with striking visuals that are classic Klassen. I loved this one, and I used it immediately for one of my storytimes.

 

30422487

 

Life on Mars by Jon Agee (2/17): A silly, sneaky book with great illustrations (in the same vein of Klassen, actually), this book is about a space explorer so determined to find life on Mars that he’s blind to what’s really going on. Kids will love the visual jokes in the book, and adults will get a kick out of the sparse text, too. I thought this one was really clever and can’t wait to add it to my storytime repertoire.

30312840This House, Once by Deborah Freeman (2/17): Gorgeous watercolors complement the simple text about the things that make up a house (and the house remembers). A great bedtime book, because the colors and the text make for a kind of sleepy, dreamy read. I loved this one.

 

 

I’m always taking picture book recommendations, so let me know if there’s something I’ve got to check out.

Leave a Reply

