books and reading

What I Read this Week

These are the books I managed to finish this week:

140075All Together Dead by Charlaine Harris: Sookie’s got a new beau in mysterious weretiger Quinn, and she’s got an upcoming vampire summit, where she’s going to have to bear witness to a trial of the queen of Louisiana. The vamps from her state are in bad shape after the hurricane, and this impending trial doesn’t help matters. There’s also the fact that there are some vamps who want to hurt the Louisiana delegation even further, and Sookie’s caught in the middle–again.

Chugging away at a reread of the series. I think I read through book 10 before, so I still have a ways to go, but these are less and less familiar as I read them. They’re also less and less interesting, which is a big bummer.

22813605

cover all sorts of territory, including Gay’s sexual assault as a young teen and the subsequent healing she’s undergone.

Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body by Roxane Gay: Gay’s highly-anticipated memoir of her struggles with eating doesn’t disappoint. Told in short, sparse chapters, Gay focuses on her girlhood and adolescence as well as on society’s obsession with policing women’s bodies.

I’ll have a lot more to say about this one when I review it, but it was very well done and also a hard read. Which is expected, given the topic.

32195204The Weight of Lies by Emily Carpenter: Megan Ashley’s life is privileged, and she owes much of her wealth to her mother’s best-selling horror novel, written decades before. But she’s sick of pretending that their family is perfect, and so when a publisher offers her the chance to write a tell-all memoir, she jumps at the chance. This means traveling to Bonny Island, Georgia, to investigate her mother’s past–and the murders that inspired the novel.

I tore through this one, and I enjoyed every minute of the twisty, convoluted plot. I stayed up way too late to finish the book, and I want to talk about it so badly! It was a hell of a read.

From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris: Sookie’s boyfriend Quinn is missing, there’s 2233407someone in the were pack who wants to kill her, and there’s a hostile takeover of the vamps of Louisiana in the works. It’s clear to say that things are a mess in Sookie’s corner of the south, and she’s stuck smack in the middle.

I’m determined to finish the series once and for all, but I’d be lying if I said these books hold my attention the way they did at the start of the series. It feels like each plot gets thinner and yet more convoluted at the same time, and it’s just not as charming as it used to be.

32935123Secrets in Summer by Nancy Thayer: This has been my audiobook of choice for my commute the past two weeks, and I finally finished it this week. Darcy has lived on the island of Nantucket for most of her life. A children’s librarian with a solid group of friends, she tries not to meddle too much in the lives of the summer residents who rent houses on the island. But one summer, she finds that she can’t stick to her rule, and before long she finds herself embroiled in the drama, as well as creating some of her own.

Nancy Thayer is apparently the queen of the beach read, and I can certainly can see why. The book is frothy, fun, and full of beachy goodness. But Thayer also writes her characters in an oddly old-fashioned, almost sexist way, and there were things that happened in the book that didn’t feel realistic (and weirdly dated). She’s kind of like a less-edgy Elin Hilderbrand (and that is a high bar to clear).

 

Leave a Reply

