Movie News and Randomness

It feels like a good week for some movie news that has me all aflutter.  Without further ado, here are 5 movie-related things I’m looking forward to right now:

1. A Monster Calls Teaser Trailer

I loved Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, so I’m very excited to see what the movie version brings.  The monster is voiced by Liam Neeson and Felicity Jones stars as the boy’s ailing mother.  I can’t wait!  It’s a long ways off yet.

2. Emma Stone to star in another Matthew Quick adaptation

The book being adapted is Love May Fail, which I know next to nothing about (when are we getting Sorta Like a Rockstar made into a movie, HMMMMMM?).  At any rate, I like her and I like Mike White, who wrote the script, so I’ll probably see it.  (Deadline)

3. The Boss Trailer

Melissa McCarthy stars in this comedy about a Martha Stewart type of mogul who is jailed and released into the care of her assistant, played by Kristen Bell.  Ben Falcone directs from a script he wrote with McCarthy.  I’m sure it will be dumb, but I love them all, so…

4. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Trailer

The first teaser is out for the eagerly-awaited Potter-universe-adjacent film, which stars Eddie Redmayne (IDK about him, still) and looks like it’s going to be some fancy shit.  I don’t actually have a lot to say about this one, but I know I’ll see it because of its presence in the pop culture cannon.

5. The Bronze  (Red Band) Trailer

I haven’t heard much about this one, which seems to have garnered mixed reviews, but it looks like it might be funny and a total button-pusher, which I’m always down for.  I like gymnastics stuff in general so I’ll definitely check this one out once it’s on demand.  There are enough comedy cameos to make it worth it in that regard alone.

 

Leave a Reply

