What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

These are the things I read and thought about this week.  Without any further ado:

Binge-Watching Television Got Me Through the Hardest Summer of My Life (Flavorwire)

I’ve been Going Through Some Stuff lately, and I’ve had several conversations about how binge-watching TV helps me to heal and process and move on.  Pilot Viruet’s piece about the worst summer of her life resonated for many reasons:

You can almost track my moods based on my Netflix Recently Watched list or the always-increasing downloads folder on my hard drive. It’s eerie, actually, knowing that I had a good run in August 2009, based on the fact that I was casually rewatching my favorite Degrassi episodes, or that I sank low that December based on the way I dove headfirst into NCIS (really, Pilot?!) so I could fully immerse myself in a repetitive procedural drama designed to shut off my mind so I don’t get lost inside my own thoughts.

At any rate, it’s an interesting piece with plenty to think about.  Viruet’s a talent.

The 24 Best Fiction Books of 2015 (Buzzfeed)

I’ve only read 2 titles on Buzzfeed’s list of delightfully diverse reads, and I can’t wait until the Cybils are over so I can really dig into more of them.  I’m at the point in the Cybils reading where I’m ready to be able to really pick what I read (and have it be adult fiction/nonfiction, too).  Happens every time.

What got you reading and thinking this week?

Leave a Reply

