books and reading · pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture items I consumed this weekend.

It’s Not Me, it’s You by Mhairi McFarlane: I’ve been tearing through this funny novel about a thirtysomething woman who has to restart her life after her fiance sends a text to her meant for his mistress.  It’s very British, very sweet, and compulsively readable.  I’m enjoying it a ton.  If you like lighter lit about females, friendship, and making your way in the world, this is one to check out.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 2: I over-indulged on Friday night and buffs2subsequently spent much of Saturday laying around being a total lazy ass.  I spent much of that time watching season 2 of this show in what has become a sort of unofficial re-watch of the series.  Man, I love this show.  It’s been some time since I really re-watched the series, and I’m definitely experiencing it in a different way than before.

alohaAloha: So I watched this movie despite my better judgment and found it completely lacking.  I read about it afterward, and I was legitimately stunned to see it described as a “romantic comedy,” because this movie was neither “romantic” nor “comedic” at all.  What it was was boring, hilariously self-important, embarrassingly miscast, and kind of racist?  Also kind of TERRIBLE?  Do not recommend, no matter how much you love Emma Stone (this is the second time she’s turned in a performance where I find her wholly irritating, which I never thought possible before).

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

One thought on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

