My Weekend in Pop Culture

A huge storm hit late Friday night and knocked out our power for the next 40-ish hours, so J. and I had quite the weekend.  We didn’t get power back until late last night, which meant that much of my planned pop culture consumption was derailed.  BUT I did see two movies and get some reading done, so here’s what I consumed this weekend:

trainwreckTrainwreck: I was excited for this, and it actually exceeded many of my expectations.  Like all Judd Apatow movies, it’s a tad bit too long, but it’s also funny, smart, and surprisingly full of heart.  I thought it was laugh-out loud funny and well worth your time.  Amy Schumer is a goddamn treasure.  It’s a sweet, fresh take on the romantic comedy.  Highly recommended.

Infinitely Polar Bear: This gem of a movie was a knockout.  It’s so sweet infinitelypolarand sad and beautiful, and Mark Ruffalo is amazing in it.  About a dad struggling to raise his daughters while dealing with manic-depression in the 70s, this heartfelt drama is so, so excellent.  If you have a chance to see it (it’s in limited release right now), please go do so.  It’s one of my favorites of the year.\

The Brothers: The Road to an American Tragedy by Masha Gessen: I finished this excellent biography of the Tsarnaev brothers, the men purportedly behind the Boston Marathon bombing in 2013.  Gessen takes a wide-angle approach to the topic, going back in time and tracing the nomadic immigration of the Tsarnaev family before the births of Tamerland and Dzhokhar Tsarnaev.  It’s a very well written, respectful, and excellently researched book, and it’s absolutely riveting.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

 

One thought on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

