books and reading · pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture items I consumed this weekend:

Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget by Sarah Hepola: I tore through this memoir about drinking and recovery and mostly liked it.  There was some weirdly tone-deaf stuff about atheism and belief in the last bit of the book, which chapped my ass more than it should have, but on the whole the book was a fast read, accessible, and interesting (and kind of terrifying).  Definitely a must-read for anyone who likes to read memoirs about drug abuse/recovery.

Everwood, Season 1: I started watching this on a whim.  It’s weirdeverwood to see how it’s aged (not super great, honestly) and also weird to see people like Chris Pratt look like total babies.  I’ve never made it through the whole series, so it’ll be interesting to see if I stick with it this time.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

One thought on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

