books and reading · pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

It’s been more than a while since I did one of these.  These are the pop culture goodies I consumed this weekend.

babadookThe Babadook: After several weeks of cajoling J. into watching this with me, I finally got him to sit down with me (because I was too scared to watch it alone).  I’m not sure that it was actually as scary as I anticipated, but it was an interesting, smart little horror movie.  I love that it was written and directed by a woman (Jennifer Kent), but that kid was ANNOYING.

john belushiJohn Belushi is Dead by Kathy Charles: This book has been on my radar for a few years, but I finally grabbed a copy at the library and couldn’t put it down.  It was so, so good.  Smart, sad, and achingly real.  This is gritty YA at its best.  Highly recommended.  I’m going to be thinking about this one for a while yet.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

One thought on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

  1. Ah, I’m afraid of horror movies as well, because I know they’ll give me nightmares, but I’ve been tempted by The Babadook on Netflix. Maybe I’ll watch it during the day!

Leave a Reply

