pop culture

Movie News and Randomness

It’s been a while since I talked about movie news that’s got me interested or angry.  Without further ado, here are five tidbits that caught my eye this week:

1. Magic Mike XXL Trailer 

I’m sure I linked to the original teaser trailer when it basically broke the internet months ago, but here’s another, longer trailer.  The movie looks ridiculous, which is fine–and I can’t wait to see it.  I don’t think it’s going to be as (actually) good as the first movie was, but that’s also ok.  It looks like it’s going to be a metric ton of fun, and definitely one worth seeing in a theater with an audience.

2. A Remake of The Craft is in the works

And I’ll see it, even though I’m not sure it’s necessary (although with all the focus on witchcraft lately, I’m surprised this didn’t get thrown into production earlier).  For the time being, a woman is attached to write and direct the movie, which helps. (THR)

3. Paper Towns Trailer

Manic! Pixie! Dream! Girl! This one might as well be called The Fault in Our Stars 2 because that is what the studio is hoping for.  I will probably eventually see this one, but it won’t be in the theater.  UGH.  UGH.  UGH.

4. The Wolfpack (finally has a) trailer

I’ve been hearing amazing buzz about this documentary for a long time, and I can’t wait to see it. So the fact that the trailer is everything I was hoping for is really heartening.  I can’t wait to see this one–the trailer is absolutely riveting and haunting.  Watch it.

5. Crimson Peak Trailer

The film is done by Guillermo del Toro, so it’s going to be visually stunning, and it looks like a pretty creepy ghost story, which I’m always up for.  It’s got a great cast and looks like it’s going to be fun.  I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

