books and reading · pop culture

What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

These are the things that got me reading and thinking this week.

Alanis Morissette’s Jagged Little Pill was a Powerful DIY Feminist Statement (AV Club)

I mean, what’s not to love here?  It’s one of my favorite albums (nostalgia is powerful as shit) and it’s about feminism and 90s music.  This is an excellent, in-depth piece about the making of the album, and it’s full of music history and interspersed with music videos/songs from the album.  WORTH IT.

My Favourite Deleted Comments from the White-Dude Book List (The Toast)

The Toast published a silly list of books that “literally” all white dudes own, and white dudes on the internet lost their damn minds.  These are the best of the deleted comments, and they are well worth your time.  Sometimes I wish that The Toast didn’t moderate their comments quite so heavily (not really, I am glad it is a safe space for women on the internet) because these are GOLD.

Go for the dude who brags about how many Margaret Atwood books he owns, stay for how many people completely miss the point and further prove the list’s silliness.

The Benefits of Reading a Book You Don’t Like (BookRiot)

Just interesting food for thought about reading things we don’t like.  There are all kinds of reasons to read books you don’t necessarily like (but like, don’t hurt yourself trying), but this was my favorite part:

I think the best reason to read something you don’t like is to learn from it. When I was studying for my MFA, we were told (rightly) never to say that we liked or disliked a book, but to explain what worked or didn’t work.

I still say quit if the writing quality is terrible or you are forcing yourself to slog through three pages a day, but as someone who regularly reads things they don’t like very much, I do think there’s a benefit in reading outside your preferences sometimes.

What got you reading and thinking this week?

One thought on “What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

  1. Some books that are classics I still don’t see the merit of – Tess of D’Ubervilles comes to mind. I learned how to speed read. And I learned that classic romance as a genre is a lot of hype and romance today is way better. Lol

Leave a Reply

