books and reading · pop culture

What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

It feels like it’s been a while since I did one of these.  Blame it on moving to a new house (SO EXCELLENT) and being supremely lazy about blogging lately.  That being said, these are some articles that I enjoyed this week.  They also got me thinking.

The Little Tramp: The Raucous Feminist Humor of “Inside Amy Schumer” (The New Yorker)

I love Amy Schumer, and I love Emily Nussbaum as a television critic, so this article is basically the perfect marriage.  This is also a really excellent piece dissecting Schumer’s particular brand of comedy and her willingness to skewer herself in the interest of expanding her social comedy.  It’s not very long and super worth the time to read it.

HGTV and the Fantasy of Home Improvement (The Billfold)

So this is an article that I wouldn’t have even glanced at twice a few months ago.  But since we started the Great House Hunt of 2015 and subsequently purchased one, I’ve become fully enmeshed in some of these home improvement shows (it doesn’t help that someone at my gym really loves HGTV and leaves it on that channel, so I end up watching all sorts of weird shit).  J. and I have binged on House Hunters and Flip or Flop, and I totally understand what language this article is speaking:

HGTV gets you good by shedding light on your insecurities. What you are living with is inadequate, so here is a neat tidy solution. It succeeds because it packages the great American Dream of a custom home into bingeable, half-hour and hour-long chunks.

It’s clever.

Why “Just Eat in Moderation” is a Destructive Response to My Disordered Eating (Ravishly)

Sometimes I make joke tweets about my current eating habits (I’m dieting but you’re not supposed to call it dieting because it’s a “lifestyle” guys) and I’m fairly vocal in real life about the fact that I’m currently in the process of cleaning up my diet.

So this article stood out to me, not only because calories and food are the things on my mind constantly these days, but because it raises some good points about how fucking toxic the world is when it comes to weight loss:

Everyone’s personal journey, story, and experience is just that: personal. If eating has only ever been a thing you do when the tummy growls, and a thing you STOP doing when the tummy is full? Then of course, moderation is an answer, because moderation is a given.

At any rate, this is one that should give you some food for thought (pun only slightly intended).

What got you thinking this week?

3 thoughts on “What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

  1. I hate hate. Hate the current hgtv trend of white subway tiles. Can’t stand them. Because they just changed an old yucky square into a new yucky rectangle and try to sell that to people

    1. This made me laugh! I don’t care for that trend, either. Backsplash tiles are weirdly very personal, I think.

      1. I also hate beige it bugs the ever living tar out of me because it’s all over too brown with wood cabinets and brown granite and brown floors and beige tile yuck it also reminds me of gov buildings so I’ll take gray as a neutral any day

Leave a Reply

