What I’m Reading and Thinking About this Week

These are the things I’ve been reading and thinking about this week.

Why I Quit Goodreads (or, Why the Bookernet is not Safe for Women) (Book Riot)

A thoughtful and worthy read, this is about the decision to quit using Goodreads to post book reviews because of how unsafe it can feel to be a woman with a voice on the internet.  Although I haven’t quit using Goodreads, I have quit posting my reviews there, and I’ve even started hesitating or declining to rate books lower than 3 stars for fear of harassment on the site.

Events of the last few weeks, many of which you’ve read about one these pages, got me thinking again about my experience on Goodreads. And it also got me thinking about all the times I’ve been talking about books and what I value about them on Twitter only to have men who are complete strangers enter my feed to assail my feminism, my appearance, my body, my voice, my place in the world.

It’s gendered, it’s targeted, and it’s gross stuff.  While not limited to the world of books, it is a place to start having some hard conversations about women on the internet.

Every Argument About Buffy on the Internet from 1998 through Today (The Toast)

Also about the internet but decidedly much lighter, this excellent humor piece over at the Toast is genuinely delightful:

Joss Whedon: Inventer Of Feminism Or Literal Hitler?

  • Joss Whedon invented feminism. Before Joss Whedon, every female character on television was crushed to death under the weight of her male co-stars’ heavier paychecks in the second-season finale.

  • Every female character Joss Whedon ever wrote was forcibly impregnated by a demon and brutally murdered, because Joss Whedon hates lesbians.

  • But Warren And The Trio Were –

  • EVERYONE GETS THAT WARREN AND THE TRIO REPRESENTED THE THREAT OF NON-SUPERNATURAL MISOGYNY, YOU DON’T GET CREDIT FOR PICKING UP ON THAT

It’s very funny and very true, not just of Whedon-fan spaces on the internet but all fan spaces.  And if you’re a Buffy fan, it’s a nice walk down nostalgia lane.

What got you reading and thinking this week?

Leave a Reply

