My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture items I consumed this weekend.  Without further ado:

beyond the lightsBeyond the Lights: I loved this.  I went in with low expectations and I just totally fell in love with it.  It’s not a perfect movie by any means, but the love story is absolutely convincing and felt fresh.  Both Gugu Mbatha-Raw and Nate Parker are excellent.  I was totally captivated by this one.  Love.

Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the Prison of Belief by Lawrence Wright: I finished this excellent book this weekend, and then I promptly had a bunch of nightmares about Scientology.  It’s exhaustively researched, well-written, and wholly engrossing.  I can’t wait for the HBO documentary.  If you have any interest in learning about Scientology from a source other than the church, this is the book to start with.

twddarylThe Walking Dead: It’s back! I’m so excited! It’s one of the only shows I watch live, and I almost never regret it.  It’s smart, scary, and absolutely riveting.  I’m so happy it’s back!

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

Leave a Reply

