pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture things I consumed this weekend.

f7Friends, Season 7-ish: We’re tooling along with the show, which has definitely already peaked and is on its way down, down, down.  Ross remains the absolute worst in an alarming way.  Rachel is also pretty terrible.  I don’t know.  This rewatch has been completely unsettling and weirdly academic.

Still Alice: I wanted to see this because I read the book astill alice year or two ago and also because I really like Julianne Moore.  Moore was great and the movie was upsetting but not as much as the book was.  It remained very faithful to its source material but lacked some of the spark of the actual novel.  It was, on the whole, fairly forgettable.

whiplashWhiplash: Frustrated as I am with this year’s crop of Whitest Oscars Ever, I’m still fairly interested in seeing quite a few of the movies nominated.  So I watched Whiplash, which stars Miles Teller and JK Simmons, both of whom are excellent in this movie.  It’s a weird, disturbing movie that feels kind of like watching a panic attack in film form, but Teller and Simmons are absolutely magnetic.  There’s not any room for women in this film (I mean like at all), which is sort of gross, but Simmons’s character is so abusive I’m almost okay with it.  This was a standout, and I’ll be thinking about it for weeks to come.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

Leave a Reply

