My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture things I consumed this weekend.  Onward, ho!

laggiesLaggies: I’ve been wanting to see this movie for a while and finally got a chance to watch it this weekend.  It’s a pretty interesting take on the arrested development trope, and Keira Knightley is actually pretty good in the movie (her American accent is patchy at best and super distracting at worst, though).  I generally liked this a lot! Sam Rockwell is so excellent and scene-stealing as a distracted dad (and sexy as hell, what) and there are some great moments between Knightley and Chloe Grace Moretz.  But there are moments where it feels pretty contrived and I also understand why it received mixed reviews.  Female director though, for those keeping track of stuff like that (I know it’s not just me).  

Ugly Girls by Lindsay Hunter: Hunter’s book is bleak and beautifully written and I’ve been slowly making my way through it because it’s so gritty and sort of horrifying.  It’s also really excellent, and I find myself thinking about the characters all the time.


friendsFriends
, Season 3:
I’m tearing through Friends on Netflix and am currently in the middle of the third season.  I’m struck by a few things: I still love Tom Selleck as Richard and think he and Monica should have ended up together; and Ross is THE ABSOLUTE WORST DUDE EVER.  His treatment of Rachel is inexcusable, and his insane jealousy and emotional manipulations are actually unsettling to watch. Eh, I don’t know.  Friends and I are in a complicated place right now.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

3 thoughts on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

  1. Friends!!! I still love that show! I really loved both Richard and Chandler. Ross was my least favorite character. How his story ended in the show was the thing i really didn’t like about the series finale.

  2. When I wasn’t working on my stories or accidentally using an entire box of dryer sheets on a single load of laundry, I cuddled up with grilfriend and watched several episodes of the superb HBO drama Treme. great characters, splendid writing, fantastic music and of course New Orleans. It’s the greatest show on televison nobody every watched. Now on Amazon Prime for free.

Leave a Reply

