books and reading · pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture things I consumed this weekend.  Without further ado:

 giverThe Giver: I finally watched this movie after putting it off for a good long while.  And I kind of wish I had kept putting it off, because talk about a total snoozefest.  Nothing about this was original, and nothing about it stood out.  It was bland as unseasoned oatmeal, guys.  Not fun, which is a shame, because I loved the book as a kid.

She is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick: I devoured this short little shenotinvisiblenovel about a blind teenager and her little brother who travel from London to America to search for their eccentric novelist father.  I’m not quite the Sedgwick enthusiast that many people seem to be, but this was a fast-paced, unusual little story.  It ended much differently than I expected it to, but it was still an entertaining read.

caseofyouA Case of You: I don’t know why I put off watching this movie for as long as I did, considering how many things it had going for it in theory: quiet little indie, weird Joni-Mitchell-song-title-title, actors I like (Justin Long, Sam Rockwell, Peter Dinklage, Busy Phillips), etc.  But the result was a total disappointment: Justin Long and Evan Rachel Wood have ZERO chemistry, the story is at times boring and creepy, and it seems to meander with no real reason.  Ugh.  Utterly forgettable.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend? 

Leave a Reply

