Top 5 Things I’m into for the Moment

It’s been a long time since I’ve done one of these top 5 posts, but now feels like a good time (especially because I’m feeling creatively tapped and don’t have any book reviews on deck).

1. Gummy bears

I’m not joking. I started stress-eating these at work a few weeks ago and I’m obsessed.  I’m sure this desire for the gross gummy candy will fade sooner than later, but for the time being, these are my perfect mid-morning (don’t judge) snack that keeps me awake at work and mildly placated.  Whatever. Everyone has their thing.  This is mine.

2. The Hanging Tree – Jennifer Lawrence

It’s been weeks since I saw Mockingjay Part I in the theater, but this song has stayed with me.  I guess Jennifer Lawrence was really unhappy about singing in the movie (she’s talked about it in basically every single press interview she’s done for the movie), but the result is super excellent and incredibly haunting. I can’t stop listening to the song and thinking about how relevant it is, both to the overarching story in the Hunger Games and also to real life shit that is happening.

3. Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door 

More than once recently, I’ve had Dudes say to me, “You play video games?” as if I’ve just announced that I have four nipples or something.  But whatever.  Right now, I’m rediscovering a love of Paper Mario thanks to an emulator set up on our giant-ass TV (having a boyfriend who is an IT nerd pays and pays).  This game is taking over my life and I’m not even upset about it.  It’s funny and smart and complicated and I seriously love it.

4. Creating an Organization Plan for 2015

I might not ever be a domestic goddess or whatever, but I am trying to simplify the amount of stuff I have and get things organized so that when we (hopefully) move this coming spring, it’s an easy, nearly-painless process.  This is my organization board on Pinterest, and it’s full of things I think are great but will probably never do.

5. Largehearted Boy’s Best Books List

Every year, David Gutowski compiles every single online list of the best books of the year, and every year, I stalk his compilation obsessively.  It’s worth your time to just peruse the list (it’s updated weekly, if not daily) and see how many different lists there are.  This is a tremendous undertaking, and it’s a valuable internet resource for book lovers and librarians alike.

 

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Things I’m into for the Moment

  1. Oh man, when I’ve mentioned video games to dudes, they always ask WHAT I play, like it’s a test. I’ve never understood what it’s testing. Is it better if I like violent games? Is it screening if I’m talking about just Candy Crush or something?

    • Clementine Bojangles says:

      I actually saw a thing the other day where a dude mansplained that sexism in videogames is okay because girls only play games like Candy Crush and so it shouldn’t matter that they don’t see themselves represented in other games, etc etc.

      But I also get the, “What do you play?” question as a follow up. I like to just stare at them for a really long time until they look away.

Leave a Reply

