pop culture

Movie News and Blather

Here are some movie-related things that I got excited about this week.  Without further ado:

1. While We’re Young Trailer

This is Noah Baumbach’s follow-up to Frances Ha (which I LOVED), and it looks fairly promising.  In this one, documentary filmmaker (Ben Stiller) and his wife (Naomi Watts) veer off-course after they become friends with hipsters (Adam Driver and Amanda Seyfried).  The film has good buzz so far and is looking like it’ll have a March release date.

2. The Age of Adaline Trailer

This sort of looks like a Benjamin Button story, but perhaps more interesting? I’m unsure about that part right now, but I do know that I think it looks interesting.  I also worry about Blake Lively in the titular role, because while I generally like her and think she is absolutely GORGEOUS, she’s super super limited in her range (even her delivery in the trailer makes me think she’s Serena van der Woodsen).

3. What We Do in the Shadows Trailer

This movie is being described as “The Real World meets vampires,” which probably means that I’m sold already.  But it’s also created by Jemaine Clement, who I LOVE, and it’s been well-received in its home of New Zealand.  It’s finally coming to the United States in February, and I am super excited.

4. Pitch Perfect 2 Trailer 

I don’t have much to say about this one, other than I can’t wait for this.  CANNOT WAIT.

5. Cake Trailer

This has been getting all sorts of buzz, too.  In it, Jennifer Anniston plays a woman on the brink who becomes fascinated with the life of a woman who has committed suicide in her support group.  The film starts Sam Worthington (snooze) and Anna Kendrick, too.  I can’t wait to see this one.

One thought on “Movie News and Blather

Leave a Reply

