My Weekend in Pop Culture

Here are the pop culture-y things I consumed this weekend.

tammyTammy: I finally got around to watching Tammy, and I was surprised by it, in a mostly good way.  It was funny, but not as silly as I thought it would be.  It had a stellar cast (in addition to Melissa McCarthy and Susan Sarandon) including Allison Janney and Mark Duplass, and it was so female-centric.  I loved that part of it.  I’m glad I saw it, but I’m also glad I waited and didn’t see it in the theater.

The Purge: Anarchy: J. and I love a terrible horror movie, and this one purgefits the bill.  There are so many things wrong with the logic behind The Purge movies if you think about it for like a second, so I spent most of this one cracking jokes and trying not to be scared (just because it’s stupid doesn’t mean I don’t get jumpy).  I don’t know why we keep subjecting ourselves to this shit, but tis the season or whatever.

Elliphant – “One More”

I’m obsessed with this song and have been listening to it on repeat.  There’s something about it that is kind of uplifting but also sort of depressing?  Does that even make sense?  At any rate, it is stuck in my head and I love it.  The video is pretty awesome, too.  I want some light up sneakers, like right now.  The song features Mo, who is also one of my favorite artists right now.  It’s a win-win situation, in my opinion.  This is definitely my song of fall.

 

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

One thought on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

