pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

Ready for another weekend in pop culture recap? Of course you are!  This weekend was full of blustery days, which made it perfect for some couch time.  Here’s some of the pop culture I consumed this weekend.

all the boysAll the Boys Love Mandy Lane: It’s October, which means I have the best intentions of watching a bunch of horror movies.  This usually ends up being 2-3, but we’ll see how it goes.  This weekend, J. and I watched this slasher flick, and we were…disappointed?  Which is maybe inevitable when the movie’s story about how long it took to get released made it a larger than life sort of film that can’t deliver on that reputation.  It was interesting to see Amber Heard (I’m sure I’ve gone on record before that I find her underwhelming as an actress) in one of her first roles.  But the rest of the film was super low-budget (and not in a good way) and bizarrely uninteresting. I think it’s a title that’s on horror-buff lists, but I wouldn’t recommend it for the casual horror fan.

Not that Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham: I absolutely devoured Lena notthatkindDunham’s new book of essays this weekend.  Partly because it was very good (it was!) and partly because I wanted to get it into the hands of my BFFFFFFF so we can talk about it.  I was very surprised by it–funny, smart, and incredibly engaging, I think Dunham has a lot to say outside of the realm of Girls.  I look forward to her next offering (I believe we haven’t heard the last of her in terms of books).

crminial mindsCriminal Minds, Season 1: I’m sort of at a loss when it comes to shows to marathon on Netflix, so I gave this one a try this weekend while I was doing some embroidery/cleaning and organizing the kitchen.  So far, I like it, in that way that most procedurals work for me: they’re nice background noise and sometimes I make deadpan quips at the TV because it’s entertaining to me.  I don’t know if I’ll get through all 9 seasons, but for the time being, it’s excellent background noise.gone girl

Gone Girl: I caved and went to see Gone Girl because the early reviews were good and because it’s hard for me to stay away from a pop culture phenomenon, which this obviously is.  Despite having some pretty serious issues with the book (and its treatment of women, in general), I have to say that this was an incredibly well done adaptation.  The changes from the book worked really well and it was a disturbing, unsettling film.  And the score was excellent.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

4 thoughts on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

  1. Intrigued about the Gone Girl film, having read the book (like you said, many issues!) and also about Lena Dunham’s book. My pop culture this weekend was watching many episodes of The Mindy Project 🙂

Leave a Reply

