pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture items I consumed this weekend, in the midst of one of the last (?) super-warm weekends before fall sets in for real.

outlanderOutlander, Season 1 (Part 1): J. and I got super into this after I griped about how much I didn’t care about it.  I’m not afraid to say I’m wrong about something, especially when the stakes are this low! The show is really well done, super feminist, and completely engrossing.  I’m loving it, and I’m not looking forward to it going on hiatus until next April.  However, I’ve started reading the book, and that helps a little.

Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For: I had reservations about this, and they sin city 2were not unfounded.  The movie was not good.  I remember really liking the first one, but this was NOT GOOD.  Even Joseph Gordon-Levitt could not save this one.  This movie has a serious Problem With Ladies, and the entire thing left a bad taste in my mouth.

Sam Smith – “I’m Not the Only One”: I discovered this video by accident, waiting for J. to come watch another episode of Outlander.  It’s not totally remarkable on its own, but it does have my secret boyfriend Chris Messina and the pretty-much-flawless Dianna Agron in it, and it’s worth a watch (or two).  I have a lot of questions about it, none of which anyone else I forced to watch the video cared to discuss with me.

One thought on “My Weekend in Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

