What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

These are the things I’m thinking about this week:

Who’s Worse: Lorelai or Rory Gilmore (Vulture)

Margaret Lyons is already a pretty rad critic, but this piece at Vulture (part of a week of celebrating all things Gilmore Girls), sends her over the top.  I agree with everything in the piece about how flawed Lorelai and Rory are as characters:

Rory’s worst attribute, other than her slouchy posture, is her lack of impulse control…Lorelai’s downfall is her intense, overwhelming self-absorption.

But like Lyons, it doesn’t matter: I still love these women and the show they inhabit.

I am More Than OK with Not Having it all (Dame Magazine)

There’s been a lot of discussion lately about women who choose or do not choose to have children and what it ALL MEANS.  This piece is both illuminating and well written, and tackles the decision to give up the ambivalence she felt about procreating.  It’s also about loving dogs, and caring for smaller, more vulnerable living things.

It’s pretty great:

Now, for as much as I’m a crazy dog person, I am not the type who calls my dogs “fur children” or thinks of what I do with them as parenting. Zsa Zsa is categorically not my “baby” in that sense. But she is the smaller of two dependent creatures I’ve chosen to care for at the moment, who are both allowed to poop and vomit all over my stuff and irritate me and disobey me and cry at me for no obvious reason and still get my unconditional love.

Let’s Talk About the Books You’ve Pretended to Read (The Toast)

This one is pretty straightforward, obviously.  It’s funny to read the essay itself, and the comments are great, too.  As someone who has faked a fair amount of “I’ve-read-that-classic,” I totally understand this one.

I will get the ball rolling: I have never seen The Wire. I have seen the pilot for Friday Night Lights three times and the pilot for The West Wing four; I have never seen any other episode for either show. I have never gotten more than three chapters into Lucky Jim because it wasn’t funny and also I hated it. At least two separate friends have lent me their cherished copies of Mary McCarthy’s The Group and I have returned their copies to both of them unopened. I have never read Octavia Butler and I’ve gone for so long without admitting it, I don’t know how I’ll get on after confessing.

Fake News Sites Aren’t Ruining the Web, You Are (Daily Dot)

I deactivated my Facebook (yes, again) a few weeks ago and the further away I get from checking it, the less I miss it.  For a long time, it was a crutch when I was bored and wanted to start shit with people who are, frankly, dumber and way less informed than I am, and it was also an outlet to judge people (and screencap their crazy).   This article is about information literacy, confirmation bias, and the dangers of viral articles:

Mocking the rubes who aren’t savvy enough to know when they’re being hoodwinked would be more mean than it is funny if it weren’t for something fundamental about how the National Report’s satire functions. The thing that makes these stories seem believable, even when they contain details that clearly cross the line into the absurd, is that the overall thrust of the pieces fall into predetermined narratives. People will read something ridiculous in a National Report story and believe it because it’s something they already desperately want to believe.

So lesson here: check your sources, folks.

What got you reading and thinking this week?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

