books and reading · pop culture

My Weekend in Pop Culture

These are the pop culture items I consumed this week.  Without further ado:

obvious childObvious Child: I made J. watch this with me this weekend, and he seemed to like it a great deal.  It held up for me on my second viewing.  This is a standout movie, and definitely one of my favorites of the year.  LOVE IT.

The Girlfriend by Abigail Barnette: So in one of my internet click-hole sessions, I stumbled across the blog of author (and very funny person) Jenny Trout, whose star rose quite a bit when she did in-depth recaps of the 50 Shades of Grey books.  I’ve been reading her recaps because they’re hilarious and hit all the same issues I have with the books themselves (not even talking about the quality of writing).  But Trout also writes erotica under the pen name of Abigail Barnette, and she’s written a series of BDSM erotica novels that feel like a response to 50 Shades. And…they’re kind of excellent.  So I’ve been devouring them.  This is the second in the series, and it was nearly as fun as the first.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

Leave a Reply

