My Weekend in Pop Culture

Without further ado, here are the pop culture-y things I consumed this weekend.

revengeRevenge: I started watching this show when I was sick with a terrible chest cold, and it just continues to get more and more ridiculous.  I’ve always liked Emily Van Camp, and my love for Nick Wechsler is well documented.  The show goes beyond sudsy drama, and while I feel like the second season lost the plot somewhat, I feel pretty committed to finishing it.  It makes for good background noise, at least.

I also watched Maleficent, the fractured fairy tale retelling of Sleepingmaleficent Beauty.  I’m not the biggest Angelina Jolie fan, but I love a good female-driven story, so I was willing to give this one a try.  But I was disappointed, even with the bar set pretty low: it was slow, it was overly long (and it wasn’t really that long, to be honest), and it reinforced why Sleeping Beauty is basically the most boring fairy tale around.  I don’t know.  It wasn’t for me.

unfinishedThe Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin: I read the majority of this book in one sitting on my deck this weekend (covered in a blanket with a glass of wine nearby, which is basically heaven on earth for me), and I sort of loved it.  I’ll definitely review it soon, but for the time being, I’m enjoying how the characters are staying with me, how I’m inspired to read more about art and be more creative in my own life, and how well Griffin (who is one of my favorite authors) managed to pull of a fake oral history.  It’s definitely a knockout of a novel.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

Leave a Reply

