My Weekend in Pop Culture

This is the pop culture I consumed this past weekend:

bestmandownBest Man Down: I’ve had this one on my radar for a while. I like Jess Weixler and Justin Long a lot, and I remember the trailer for this super low-budget indie comedy(?) looked pretty good.  I finally got around to watching it this weekend, and it wasn’t at all what I expected.  It wasn’t a comedy so much as a drama, and the plot was uneven at best.  There were some good moments in it, and I thought that Addison Timlin in particular was pretty good.  But…I don’t know.   I’m still thinking about it, which is the mark of something that is at least thoughtful in some way, but it wasn’t at all what I was expecting to get.  It was fun to see all the Minnesota landmarks, though.

Gilmore Girls Season 6: You aren’t surprised togg6 see this one on here, are you?  Of course not.  I’m tearing through the series.  I’m still not sure what to do to taper the feeling of loss I’ll have when I complete it (though J.’s celebration at having the living room back will probably distract, at least a little).

906429 - The Amazing Spider-Man 2The Amazing Spider-Man 2: AWFUL.  Like, literally a pile of shit.  I really enjoyed the first one of the reboot, but this one was TERRIBLE.  The script was heaped with cliche after cliche after clunky piece of dialogue, and there wasn’t nearly enough Emma Stone to make up for how overstuffed it was with villains, a convoluted message, and sub-par special effects.  J. and I finished it and were like, “That’s it?! Two and a half hours, and that’s it?!” UGH.  RAGE.

On top of that, we went to two different barbeques/bonfires, had a dinner out, tried some new local beers, and hung out with our puppy.  What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

Leave a Reply

