Movie News and Randomness

I’m a little behind in reading, which means I don’t have any reviews ready to go.  But that’s never stopped me from blogging!  So here is some movie news I’m pumped and/or apathetic about this week!

1. Dear White People Trailer

This sharp satire has gotten a lot of good buzz, and this teaser trailer seems to be doing that buzz justice, because I can’t wait to see it.  It’s going to piss a lot of people off (good), but it also looks pretty great.

2. I guess Prometheus 2 is a Thing Happening?

This article is really about Guy Pearce wanting in on the action, but did anyone know that this was a thing happening? I guess I just figured the backlash to the first one was so bad that it would fade into obscurity, but silly me–if there is money to be squeezed from us, there is a film to make. (Cinema Blend)

3. The Good Lie Trailer

There are things inherently problematic with this movie already: it’s definitely a white savior narrative, which, can we please move past already?  But it’s also about some of the Lost Boys of Sudan, and I’m willing to entertain the fact that this movie is going to be completely conventional and manipulative because it will also raise awareness to people who have no idea what has happened and is happening in Sudan.  Whatever.  It stars Reese Witherspoon and the trailer made me tear up because I know I’m being manipulated but I’m also powerless in the face of it.

4. Here are some Mockingjay posters

Because I don’t have anything else for you, and because why not? (Screen Rant)

5. About Alex Trailer 

I mean, the movie is dubbed “The Big Chill” for millennials and I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a description so apropos.  It’s exactly what it is, and I am exactly the demographic, and I cannot wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

