My Weekend in Pop Culture

In keeping with last week’s tradition, here’s the pop culture I consumed this weekend.  We had a pretty busy weekend (it’s wedding season, y’all), but I managed to get in some quality time with these pop culture gems:

covert affairsCovert Affairs: J. and I started watching the first season of this a while ago, but got distracted and sort of fell off the wagon.  I started back up again this week, and something about it clicked for me.  It’s definitely Alias-lite, but it works for me on several levels: it’s light enough for summer consumption, Piper Perabo is serviceable as the lead, and the fact that it’s sort of silly but knows it makes it just enjoyable enough.

At any rate, I made it through the first season and now am well into the second.  I love me some female-driven TV shows, and it doesn’t hurt that Christopher Gorham turned into a total babe.

Robyn & Royksopp – “Do It Again” EP

The video is for the song “Sayit,” which isn’t necessarily my favorite off the EP, but it’s the only one with a video (that I can find).  The title track is actually my favorite, and it’s well worth your time to seek it out.  I love Robyn and I’ll take her in any form, including in this collaboration EP.

That Awkward Moment: I finally got around to watching this movie, and I have to say that I actually really liked it.  Like, laughed out loud, hard, several times.  It helps that I love Michael B. Jordan and Miles Teller more than pretty much anything (okay, that’s hyperbolic).  But it was actually a pretty funny diversion this weekend.  I enjoyed it greatly.

What pop culture did you consume this weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

