First Look: The 2014 Network Upfronts: NBC and FOX

It’s no secret that I love the Network Upfronts more than I should.  I watch a lot of TV, but probably not as much as many others.  That being said, there’s something about the annual upfronts that I just love.  It’s probably mostly the promise of new shows (most of which will fail, and many of which are terrible) that excites me.  At any rate, I like to track the coverage of these upfronts as the networks unroll their new fall schedules.

Yesterday, NBC and FOX unveiled their new line-ups.  Here’s what I found noteworthy for both.

NBC

  • Community has been cancelled, officially.  I am not sad about this, despite having once loved it.
  • Parks & Recreation will be back mid-season for a final, abbreviated seventh season. This makes sense to me.
  • Parenthood will also get a final season, which makes me very happy.
  • There are some new shows that have piqued my interest, but it is very preliminary: this includes the Rashida Jones comedy A-to-Z (terrible title, btw), the Katherine Heigl drama State of Affairs (this is likely to be TERRIBLE), and the Casey Wilson-backed Marry Me (probably also terrible).

Overall thoughts: NBC pulled ahead in ratings this year, and they actually are shaking up their schedule quite a bit for the fall.  I’m excited to see some female-driven shows on the roster, but I’m very, very nervous that they will all be terrible.  Expect a deeper look at the new shows once we have teaser trailers for them and more details.

Here’s the trailer for Gotham, just to have something besides text to look at.

FOX

  • Interesting note: FOX decided not to do pilots this season, instead choosing a few projects to green light for series right away.  It’s a ballsy move.
  • I obviously still watch The Mindy Project, so I’m stoked that’s got another season.  I care less about New Girl, but will probably continue to watch it because it precedes Mindy.
  • New series that I’m keeping an eye out for include the Batman prequel Gotham, Gracepoint (which is a remake of the BBC series Broadchurch), and teen-sudser (?) Red Band Society, which is about a group of teens who meet in a children’s hospital.
  • There’s also mid-season replacement Hieroglyph, which I will watch because anything about ancient Egypt on FOX is guaranteed to be HILARIOUS.
  • Word is that Fox no longer wants Glee to have a final season 22-episode run, so it will be interesting to watch that sinking ship.

 

 

Leave a Reply

