Movie News and Randomness

It’s been a while since I talked about the movie news that’s got me all hot and bothered (or lukewarm and apathetic).  Without further ado, here are 5 movie-related things to consider this week:

1. Gone Girl Trailer

People are blowing up the internet about this trailer, the first official look at the movie, out in October.  If the girls I “know” on Facebook are to be believed, this is based on, “like, the best book ever.”  At any rate, the buzz about the film’s altered ending means that I’ll be seeing this one eventually, mostly because my curiosity is more powerful than my reticence to jump on the Gone Girl bandwagon.  Thoughts?

2. Allegiant likely to be split into two movies, because $$$$$

Not that this is surprising to anyone with two brain cells to rub together, but it looks like Veronica Roth’s Divergent series will get the same treatment The Hunger Games and Harry Potter did, and see the final book split into more than one movie.  This is silly for a number of reasons, but the thing that stands out most to me is that the third novel is by far the weakest and least interesting of the series, so why bother dragging it out?

Oh, because of money?  Right. (Deadline)

3. If I Stay Trailer

Look, I wasn’t one of the people on the If I Stay love-train.  I don’t totally get it, but I understand its significance in the YA lit world.  This is the first official trailer for the much-anticipated movie, starring Chloe Grace Moretz.   It looks…fine.

Maybe I’m a bitter old shrew, but I can’t get past Moretz’s ignorant, misguided comments about YA:

Forman’s novel might occupy a certain part of the bookstore, but Moretz doesn’t love the “young adult” designation. She thinks it diminishes the book’s value. “What’s interesting about Gayle’s novel is that it’s not really that YA. It deals with issues that are much bigger…it’s much darker than I think most YA is,” says Moretz.

LOL okay, Chloe.  What does “it’s not really YA” even mean?  Are you serious?

Sorry I’m not sorry, but that’s literally the dumbest thing she could have said about YA literature while also proving that she has no idea what she’s talking about.  Which is, you know, okay.  But then maybe don’t say anything about YA?

4. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler to star in “The Nest”

The two real-life friends are set to star in a movie called The Nest, about two sisters who get kicked out of the family home when their parents buy a condo.  I’m excited about a film with two females as its leads, because we need way, way more of those. (Showbiz 411)

5. Wish I Was Here Trailer

Remember when Zach Braff begged Kickstarter backers to fund his movie and there was a lot of (justified) backlash but it got funded anyway?  Well, this is the trailer for that movie.  It’s about a dad who struggles to juggle family life or something, but the trailer is mostly just slow-motion shots scored to The Shins.  It looks about as self-indulgent as you’d expect, and based on the early reviews out of Sundance, it’s going to be kind of a shit show.

So yeah, I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

