pop culture

Movie News and Randomness

Time for the bimonthly Movie News and Blather.  These are the movie-related tidbits I found interesting enough to blog about this time around!

1. Tammy Teaser Trailer

The film stars Melissa McCarthy, who I will pretty much watch in anything.*  It also stars Susan Sarandon, Allison Janney, and a bunch of other great people, so how could I not want to see this one?  Plus, the teaser opens with “Gangsta’s Paradise” by Coolio, so, you know.

*This is hyperbolic.  I will not watch Mike & Molly and can’t bring myself to sit through Identity Thief.  So, you know, I have my limits.

2. Jennifer Anniston will star in Cake

It’s about a woman obsessed with the suicide of another woman in her support group, so…cheery? (Variety)

3. Under the Skin Trailer

I can never quite make my mind up about Scarlet Johansson, but this sci-fi flick is getting pretty good buzz.  It’s about aliens, or something, and prominently features Johansson’s face.  The movie was scored by Micachu and the Shapes, which excites me, and I guess the cinematography is something to behold as well.

4. Live-action Tarzan movie is apparently a thing.

Did you guys know about this?  Because I didn’t.  Apparently it will star Alexander Skarsgaard as Tarzan and Margot Robbie as Jane.  It’ll be directed by David Yates, which is the only part about any of it I’m remotely okay with, and even that is sort of BLECH.  We don’t have to worry about it until 2016, though.

5. The Two Faces of January Trailer

While I wish the trailer didn’t give quite so much away, it has a pretty impressive cast.  I’m crazy for Oscar Isaac, so I’m down for this, but Viggo Mortenson and Kirsten Dunst are also in this thriller about tourists who get involved in a murder.  Or something.  Did I mention Oscar Isaac is in the trailer?

 

Leave a Reply

