pop culture

Movie News and Randomness

Time for another installment of movie news and blather! Who’s ready for the five movie-related things I’m most excited about this week?

1. Bad Words Redband Trailer

This movie, starring Jason Bateman, is about a guy who exploits a loophole in an elementary spelling bee so that he can compete.  Hilarity, I assume, ensues.  I’m not entirely sure about this one, but Bateman is a critical darling and so I’ll probably see this one, just to…you know…see it?

2. Gone Girl will be scored by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Let’s just give them the Oscar preemptively, yeah? (THR)

  • As they did for The Social Network and The Girl with the Dragon TattooTrent Reznorand Atticus Ross will score David Fincher’s adaptation of Gone Girl.

3. Maleficent Trailer

I’m not a huge Angelina Jolie fan in general, which I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, but I am excited about this Maleficent movie, and the latest trailer is pretty awesome.  The background song is appropriately creepy (what up, Lana Del Rey), the cinematography looks beautiful, and Jolie looks like she’s having a lot of fun.  I’ve always found Maleficent to be one of the scariest, most compelling Disney villains, so I’m excited for what they could do with this one.

4. Wonder Woman gets three-picture deal

I feel like Wonder Woman projects get started and scrapped every year, but it looks like this one might actually be happening?  Maybe?  Possibly?  Gal Gadot has been cast as Wonder Woman, and it includes an appearance in the Man of Steel sequel, a Justice League movie, and her own Wonder Woman film.  I’m taking bets on which one of those is least likely to happen. (Variety)

5. Better Living Through Chemistry Trailer

This dark comedy stars Sam Rockwell and Olivia Wilde, so I’m already there.  He’s a pharmacist in a small town that’s always done the right thing, and she’s pretty much a sexed-up vixen.  It looks to be trippy fun.  I’m in.

What movie news are you excited about this week?

Leave a Reply

