pop culture

Movie News and Randomness

I’m not much on introductions these days, so without further ado, these are the movie trailers and news tidbits I was excited about this week.

1. That Awkward Moment Red Band Trailer

Originally entitled Are We Officially Dating?, I think it’s safe to say that both titles are just awful.  Saying that I’m ambivalent about Zac Efron is giving him the greatest compliment I’ll ever bestow on him, but I do love me some Miles Teller and Michael B. Jordan.  The comedy looks pretty broad and absolutely predictable, but who are we kidding? I’m going to watch anything with Michael B. Jordan in it.

2. 50 Shades of Shit Show

Is anyone else following the pre-production problems of the 50 Shades movie as gleefully as I am?  It’s no secret that I LOATHE AND DETEST the book series with every fiber of my being, and that I think trying to make a mainstream movie based on the book(s) is just completely ridiculous.  That being said, following the early disasters of a movie that is sure to be plagued with problems from start to finish (and I’m skeptical about that finished project) is too good to pass up.  I think Charlie Hunnam made the right choice.  (Deadline)  HOWEVER, it looks like Jamie Dornan has replaced him already, so we should expect more internet tantrums to follow.  (Variety)

3. At Middleton Trailer

I’m not sure about this one, but it looks interesting enough to include it in this round up, especially because I’m feeling so apathetic about so many movies right now.  It stars Vera Farmiga and Andy Garcia as parents of teens who meet while accompanying their children on a college tour.  The two spark and sort of fall in love or something.  I don’t know.  I like Vera Farmiga (and her sister Taisa Farmiga plays her daughter, who I also like), so I’d be willing to give this one a shot.

4. A Remake of Little Women

WHY GOD WHY? (Variety)

5. Into the Forest is becoming a movie!!!

One of my favorite post-apocalyptic novles, Into the Forest by Jean Heglund, is going to be a movie.  While it seems unlikely to ever live up to my impossibly high standards, I’m pretty stoked about this.  Ellen Page and Evan Rachel Wood have been tapped to play the sisters in the story. (Variety)

What movie news has you excited this week?

Leave a Reply

