Movie News and Randomness

I think it’s past time for another installment of movie news and randomness.  Here are five movie-related items I’m particularly excited about this week.

1. A Case of You guarantees I’ll see it based on the title and Justin Long

The movie stars Justin Long (whom I love to a ridiculous degree), and Evan Rachel Wood (who I like, generally) as a couple who meet and are attracted to one another, yadda yadda yadda.  But Long’s character decides that instead of being himself, he’ll try to be her perfect man, based on information from vaguely Facebook-esque online profile.  It’s contrived, and I’m sure we can all figure out how it will unfold, but the movie also stars Peter Dinklage, so how could I not see it?

2.  Reese Witherspoon attached to star in Happily Ever After

The movie, which is in what I assume is pre-pre-production, focuses on a princess ten years after she’s married her prince.  What happens after the end of a fairytale?  It’s likely to be a little twee and overly-saccharine, but I like Reese Witherspoon much more than I should (I sat through This Means War–sober), so there’s no doubt I’ll see this one at some point. (THR)

3. Frozen looks cute, I guess, for an animated film

I’m not really what you’d call a fan of animated films in general, but I like the ones that feature female protagonists, generally (I really liked Brave).  This one stars the voices of Kristen Bell and Idina Menzel, so they’ve already got me hook, line, and sinker.  It’s all about a quest to restore a city to its summer glory from the eternal winter that’s been cast upon it.  Or something.  The details don’t really matter because it’s going to be formulaic.  But, whatever.

4. Bryce Dallas Howard is in talks to star in Jurassic World

NOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. (The Wrap)

5. Geography Club Trailer is all glammed up

I read Brent Hartinger’s The Geography Club back when I was finishing up my teaching degree, and I remember generally liking it but not being blown away by it.  It’s about a group of teens at a high school who start what is essentially a GSA for other students, but they call it the Geography Club so as not to arouse suspicion from other students.  Apparently, there are other books in the series, though I just learned that today, when putting together this post.  At any rate, someone has made it into a movie, and it’s…didactic.

 

What movie news are you excited about this week?

Leave a Reply

