books and reading

CYBILS Nominations Open Today!

I don’t think I’ve announced it officially on the blog yet, but I am a judge for the Cybils again this year.  Like last year, I’m a round 1 panel judge for the YA fiction category (that’s kind of my jam, y’all). At any rate, I’m stoked to get started with the reading, so you should get started with the nominating.  Nominations opened this morning, so you should head over to the website and nominate books you think are excellent for children and teens.

A refresher, for those of you who don’t know what the Cybils are:

The Cybils are awards given annually by bloggers for the year’s best children’s and young adult titles.

Books have to meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Any English or bilingual books published in the United States or Canada between October 16, 2012 and October 15, 2013.
  • A title published specifically for the youth market
  • Usually, a book has to be pretty widely available to be eligible.

 

We’re looking for the best, but we’re also looking for the underrated.  So get to nominating!

Last year I submitted nominations early, but this year I’m going to wait and see what doesn’t get a nod.  I want to make sure that the books I loved so far this year get their fair chance.

What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

