Movie News and Randomness

It’s time for another installment of movie news and blather.  You ready?  This is the movie news that’s got me all atwitter this week.

1. Neighbors Redband Trailer

This is a redband trailer, so it’s obviously not safe for work.  That being said, the movie looks kind of silly, and I’m not sure what’s going on with Rose Byrne’s accent, but it boasts an impressive cast.  I’ll see it because I love a good, stupid movie. The cast is worth seeing the movie alone.

2. J.K. Rowling to write a Harry Potter spin-off movie.

It’s based on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and it will make a bajillion dollars.  Or something.  Whatever.  I’m in.  Like it’s even a question.  (Vulture)

3. Kill Your Darlings Trailer

It stars Daniel Radcliffe and is all about Allen Ginsberg.  I’m not the biggest fan of Ginsberg, per se, but I did read a lot of his work when I took a history class in undergrad about the beat movement, so I’m familiar with his oeuvre.  This movie examines the beginnings of Beat culture and has garnered some good buzz, so while I might not make a trip to see it in theaters, I’ll definitely watch it at some point.

4. Ass Backwards Trailer

I guess there’s a lot of trailers I’m sort of stoke about this week.  Who doesn’t love trailers?  They’re my favorite part of going to the movies.  Anyway, this one is not getting super great buzz, but it’s got an interesting cast and some serious comedy chops behind it.  Casey Wilson and June Diane Raphael wrote and star in it, and it’s vaguely reminiscient of Romy & Michelle’s High School Reunion.  At any rate, I think it looks weird and funny and it’s got two female stars, so why wouldn’t I see it, right?

5. Best Man Down Trailer

I love Justin Long–perhaps irrationally so–and will watch him in basically anything. I can’t explain it, guys.  I also like Jess Weixler, who plays his new wife in this dramedy.  The basic premise is that the best man at their wedding dies that same night, and the two embark on a journey to answer questions about his life.  It looks quirky and funny and cute, which means it’s right up my alley.  Bonus: it’s being released on VOD before hitting theaters, so I don’t have to brave crowds if I don’t want to.  YES.

What movie news are you excited about this week?

Leave a Reply

