pop culture

What I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

These are the things that I’ve been reading and thinking about this week:

Movies/TV/Entertainment:

Elysium’s Politics Don’t Add Up (Salon)

I saw Elysium last weekend, and I was underwhelmed, and kind of confused.  J. and I talked about it for a while afterward, and neither one of us could decide what it was that didnt’ work about the movie, but this piece over at Salon sums up many of my issues with the pretty forgettable film.

I’m Worried that the Cable Rerun Movie is in Danger of Dying Out (Vulture)

This is a great, funny piece about how awesome it is to catch a movie on cable and lose an afternoon or an evening to it.  What’s interesting is that I’ve had this conversation several times with different people, because I’ll definitely watch a movie that I’ve not only seen multiple times but own a copy of–if I happen to catch it on TV.  There’s something so great about the cable rerun movie.  I’d hate to see it disappear because of on-demand viewing (whose choices can be paralyzing).

Politics:

Tackling the Roots of Rape (NY Times)

My friend Stacey sent me this one (what up, @GingerGoingHAM?), and it was an interesting read.  There’s something to be said for what Chris Kilmartin is doing and teaching all over the country, but what I found disturbing about the article is that not once is the phrase “rape culture” mentioned.  Isn’t that what they’re getting at when they talk about the way that pop culture and the media reinforce the male machismo stereotype?  Isn’t that what we’re being inundated with when it comes to the media and rape apologists?  Is it just that the phrase “rape culture” is so polarizing, or is there something else I’m missing?

Other/Misc.:

16 Questions for the “Real Life Barbie” (The Daily Beast)

This is something I stumbled upon when I fell into a Tumblr hole this week, but it’s absolutely riveting and absolutely horrifying.  The woman is not right in the head for many reasons, but you also can’t look away, can you?  Her body looks like it hurts.

40 Maps They Didn’t Teach You in School (Bored Panda)

This is so cool and such a fun diversion, I really encourage you to spend some time looking carefully at the different maps presented.  As a former social studies teacher, this is exactly the kind of stuff I would have used in my class to reinforce ideas about xenophobia, racism, cartography–you name it, you can find something here it applies to.

What are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply

