pop culture

Movie News and Randomness

Are you all ready for another installment of movie news and blather?  Excellent.  So am I.

1. The Lifeguard stars Kristen Bell

It’s no secret that Kristen Bell is my favorite, you guys.  The good news is that while I’m waiting for the Veronica Mars movie, I can see Bell in this quiet indie movie called The Lifeguard.  Although the general plot looks like it’s been done to death, I’m still going to see it, because I love Bell and quite like Mamie Gunnar, who plays her best friend.  What do you think?

2. A new Child’s Play (Chucky) movie is in the works.

I don’t know if this is interesting to anyone else, but as someone who was raised as a young one during the early days of the Child’s Play/Chucky movies, this is somewhat newsworthy.  Chucky absolutely terrified me until I saw Bride of Chucky (which is supposed to be a horror comedy, I think?).  At any rate, consider this the official reboot.

Yeah.  So that’s happening.  (Yahoo Movies)

3. Austenland Trailer. Can’t wait.

I don’t have a lot to say about this one except that I’m stoked for it and can’t wait to go see it with my mom.  I might not have ever made it through the book (I might give it one more shot before the film is released at the end of August), but that doesn’t mean I’m not ready to see Keri Russell as a fish out of water at an Austen fan retreat.

4. Thanks for Sharing Trailer has Mark Ruffalo, ensures my mom and I will go together

I’m a big fan of Mark Ruffalo, which pretty much ensures that I’ll see him in anything, including movies that Gwenyth Paltrow is also in.  I actually don’t mind Paltrow as an actress (just find her to be kind of insufferable as an actual human being–or robot, the jury’s still out).  At any rate, this one is helmed by the writer of The Kids Are All Right, which I loved, so it’s promising, to say the least.

5. Lovelace Trailer promises you’ll be generally uncomfortable.

There’s been a lot of buzz around this one, and I’m interested in seeing Amanda Seyfried do something other than the absolute worst romantic comedies.  I like her, and I want her to be better.  I’m not sure how much FUN this one will be, but it should be interesting.

What movies are you excited about this week?

2 thoughts on “Movie News and Randomness

  1. The Lifeguard is my top pick from these! I love MG and I was a huge fan of Veronica Mars (I also can’t wait for the movie!) so anything with KB in is also good with me. I just saw Stuck in Love with KB and it was wonderful, I loved it! She does great in comedic/drama roles.

Leave a Reply

