Things I’m Reading and Thinking About This Week

It’s no secret that I’m struggling in the blog post department. Blame general ennui, blame a lack of book reading (a combination of being behind on my goals for the year and re-reading the Harry Potter series), but there it is.  I’m not posting much, and I don’t feel much drive to do so (though I do feel some guilt about not posting regularly, which is stupid because I do this for fun and no other reason).

However, I do read a lot.  A lot.  And much of that is stuff on the internet.  So I thought I’d start sharing some of what I read, as a way to share what it is I’m fascinated by at any given time.  That, and I think it would be really cool to track what I’m reading when it comes to the internet.  Without further ado, here’s what I was reading and thinking about this week:

“On Miley Cyrus, Ratchet Culture, and Accessorizing with Black People” (Jezebel)

I’m kind of obsessed with Miley Cyrus’s latest single and the absolutely cringe-worthy video, and this article helped me pinpoint exactly what it is that makes me so damn uncomfortable.  This is definitely an interesting read, and super quick if you have a short attention span.

The Lone Ranger Represents Everything That’s Wrong with Hollywood Blockbusters” (Vulture)

I mean, I was never going to see this festering turd of a movie, but it’s nice to see that I’m apparently not the only person who was reticent to go to the movies this past weekend.  For myriad reasons, this movie was wrong, wrong, wrong, and this excellent piece by Vulture writer Gilbert Cruz breaks it down for us.  I’m not going to lie: I’m glad this movie is being considered a failure a week in.

“Most Anticipated: The Great Second-Half 2013 Book Preview” (The Millions)

I’m trying to read more adult fiction (and non-fiction, I guess), and this incredibly excellent and exhaustive list from The Millions is damn near perfect in what’s coming over the course of the second half of the year.  I already had some of these titles on my radar, but it’s always great to find new things I want to read (it’s not like that to-be-read list is ever shrinking).

“The Children Who Went Up in Smoke” (Smithsonian Mag)

If there were one new thing I’ve become obsessed with this summer, it’s unresolved mysteries.  I’ve discovered a bizarre fascination with mysteries of all sorts, and it is these unresolved ones that I find particularly gripping.  I stumbled across this excellent, engrossing article about some children who disappeared in 1945, and I can’t stop thinking about it.  The article is worth a read for many reasons, but mostly because it’s so excellently constructed: you’ll start it wondering what on earth the mystery could be and end it convinced that something strange had happened.  OBSESSED.

“Your Flip-Flops Are Grossing Me Out” (Slate)

Look, I actually really like Dana Stevens, the article of this ridiculous, podophobic whinefest over on Slate.  It’s pot-stirring reduced to the most banal and ridiculous, and there’s some weird, unintentional cultural privilege undertones in the article that don’t sit right with me.  But perhaps the most vexing part of this piece is the fact that it doesn’t matter: someone else wearing flip-flops has exactly zero impact on your life.

And you can pry my flip-flops from my cold dead toes.

“One Man and His Pug” (The Daily Mail)

This guy from Seattle takes a picture of his pug, Norm, every day.  It helps that he’s a decent photographer and that I love pugs, but there’s something about this story and this guy’s love for his dog that I find really moving.  His instagram is worth checking out, too.

 What do you read this week that stood out?

Leave a Reply

