Movie News and Blather

You guys ready for another installment of movie news and randomness?  I’m so uninspired these days, this is about all I have to offer the blog.  Anyway, without further ado, here we go!

1. In a World Trailer

This movie is Lake Bell’s debut as a writer and director.  While I’m not entirely sold on Bell as an actress (I think she’s pretty good, I guess), I do think this movie about the world of voice-over acting looks pretty cute.  It’s got a pretty funny cast, and it’s getting good buzz.  What do you think?

2. If I Stay optioned as movie

I feel like I’ve written about this before, but maybe not?  Gayle Forman’s very popular book, If I Stay, has been optioned for film by MGM and Chloe Moretz is the likely actress to star as the book’s heroine, Mia.  I wasn’t a huge fan of this book (or its sequel), but I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t see the movie. (variety.com)

3. Snowpiercer Trailer

I hadn’t heard about this movie before, but it looks kind of awesome.  It’s about a future world in which we’re in another ice age and the only survivors are living on a train that is in constant motion.  When the poorer passengers revolt against the wealthy, chaos ensues.  It has an interesting cast (including Tilda Swinton, Chris Evans, and Ed Harris) and looks like it might be really fun.

4. Anchorman 2 Trailer is live

This is one of those things I feel like I should care about more than I do.  Does that make sense?  While I enjoyed the original Anchorman, I’m not a huge Will Ferrell fan.  I do, however, like a lot of the other people in it.  I’ll definitely see this at some point, but it might be a rental kind of film.  What do you think?

5. The Spectacular Now looks awesome

This one boasts a pretty awesome cast (although I’m still on the fence about Shailene Woodley) and an interesting look at how alcohol can affect your life while you’re still a teenager.  It’s getting great buzz and has a limited release in August.  I can’t wait to see this one.

What movie news are you excited about this week?

One thought on “Movie News and Blather

Leave a Reply

