pop culture

Fall TV Preview

You guys know that I follow the network upfronts every year.  And every year, I get excited about some of the new shows each network has to offer.  This year is no different.  These are the shows I’m most looking forward to, with the realization that most of these will either disappoint or bore me within weeks of their premiere dates.

Without further ado!

FOX

1. Us & Them

The show is a remake of the British comedy Gavin & Stacey, and basically had me at “Jason Ritter.”  I will watch that boy in anything, pretty much.  It also looks kind of stupid and cute, and has a lot of other actors I really like.  So, yeah, I’m going to be watching this one, much to J.’s chagrin.

2. Sleepy Hollow

As a fan of the original novel and also of the deeply creepy Tim Burton movie, there was no way I wasn’t going to check this one out.  I worry about long-term sustainability, but that’s my worry with many shows.  This one also appears to have a sense of humor, which makes it a little more fun.

NBC

1. Blacklist

Early buzz on this one is good, so I’ll give it a try.  I mean, I’m probably the least excited about this one on the entire list, but it’s also the only new show on NBC I’m likely to watch.

ABC

1. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. 

I mean, it’s Joss Whedon.  How could I not?

2. Super Fun Night

Ugh, I don’t know. I love Rebel Wilson and want to support her, but this comedy looks so broad that it’s unappealing.  That’s pretty much the case with all ABC’s new sitcoms, though.  Broad doesn’t equal quality, guys.

3. Mixology

This one is a dating sitcom.  The huge cast hints that there might be a couple of stand-outs.  I guess it could work?  I’m not sure.  There’s some potential here, but not a whole lot.  I’ll tune in and probably immediately tune out.

CBS

1. The Crazy Ones

I’d be lying if I said I was watching this for any other reason than Sarah Michelle Gellar.  I don’t know what it is about that woman, but I can’t seem to quit her.  Except for when she was on that stupid effing show where she played the most unconvincing set of twins I’ve ever seen.  I quit her about halfway through the pilot on that one.

The CW

1. Reign

I’m sorry, but what in the fresh hell IS THIS?  It’s a teen sudser about Mary Queen of Scots, and I will be watching the hell out of it, because HOW IS THIS A THING THAT IS HAPPENING?

What shows are you excited about come this fall?

3 thoughts on “Fall TV Preview

    1. Doesn’t Reign look ridiculous? I want to have been in the room when they pitched that. It’s…so tonally off.

Leave a Reply

