Waiting on Wednesday: The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

Expected Release Date: April 30, 2013

In The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise, super-smart, somewhat geeky Audrey McCarthy can’t wait to get out of high school. Her father’s death and the transformation of her one-time BFF, Blake Dawkins, into her worst nightmare have her longing for the new start college will bring.

But college takes money. So Audrey decides she has to win the competition for the best app designed by a high schooler—and the $200,000 that comes with it. She develops something she calls the Boyfriend App, and suddenly she’s the talk of the school and getting kissed by the hottest boys around. But can the Boyfriend App bring Audrey true love?

(summary via Goodreads)

I’m in the mood for something light this week, because I’ve been reading a lot of very dark (but very good) stuff lately.  This cute contemporary YA novel looks to be right up my alley.  I love the incorporation of technology and science to the book, and I love that the science geek is a female.  I’m sure this one won’t reinvent the wheel, but it does look to be a totally enjoyable read.  The great news is that it comes out at the end of April, so I don’t even have to wait that long for it!

What are you waiting on this week?

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

  1. Jade says:

    I totally agree, it’s like early 2013 has been ruled by darker reads and now I need something light too, this looks absolutely adorable as well so totally need to read it! I love this pick.

    My WOW

  2. This sounds really cute! I’m always nervous when an author tries to incorporate a current trend/fad into their book – sometimes it comes across as forced or like they’re trying too hard to fit in with the younger generations – but I love the sounds of this one anyway!

Leave a Reply

