pop culture

Movie Blather and Randomness

Time for another installment of movie news and blather, where I bring you all the movie news that’s fit to print (or at least what I find interesting).  Without further ado or preamble, let’s get right into it!

1. Is anyone else embarrassingly excited for Monsters University?

I’m not going to lie: I’m not a big animated film person.  For a lot of reasons.  But I really loved Monsters, Inc., and I’m really excited for the prequel.  This trailer looks cute.  I can’t wait.  What do you think?  How do you feel about a prequel?

2. The Academy Awards are this weekend

And I’m pumped up, as per usual.  It’s a big day in my world.  We do it up right and throw a party with themed food and ballots and a pool of money I’m intent to win (running champion something like 4 years in a row).  I’ve got our ballots all printed, my food all planned out, and have even done a practice ballot.  That’s how much of a dork I am.  I love the Oscars.  Love them.  I doubt that will ever change. (Metacritic)

3. It’s a Disaster Trailer looks funny, dark

I hadn’t even heard of this movie before stumbling across the trailer, but it looks pretty great.  It’s got some of my favorite people, including America Ferrara, Julia Stiles, and David Cross.  It looks funny and weird and dark and full of the kind of awkward humor I really like.  It’s being released on VOD before hitting theaters in April, so hopefully I’ll get a chance to see it soon.

4. Lauren Graham and Joel McHale will star in a movie together

It’s called A Friggin’ Christmas Miracle, which doesn’t exactly inspire confidence.  The film centers around the duo who are a married couple going to visit McHale’s grandfather.  The grandfather is played by Robin Williams, which basically means the movie is doomed.  (THR)

5. Room 237 has a trailer now

I wrote about this documentary a few weeks back, and I’m happy to say there’s a trailer now.  Check it out for yourselves at the playlist.

Leave a Reply

