Waiting on Wednesday: Lauren Yanofsky Hates the Holocaust by Leanne Lieberman

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

Lauren Yanofsky Hates the Holocaust by Leanne Lieberman

Expected Release Date: April 1, 2013

Lauren Yanofsky doesn’t want to be Jewish anymore. Her father, a noted Holocaust historian, keeps giving her Holocaust memoirs to read, and her mother doesn’t understand why Lauren hates the idea of Jewish youth camps and family vacations to Holocaust memorials. But when Lauren sees some of her friends–including Jesse, a cute boy she likes–playing Nazi war games, she is faced with a terrible choice: betray her friends or betray her heritage. 
Told with engaging humor, LYHH isn’t simply about making tough moral choices. It’s about a smart, funny, passionate girl caught up in the turmoil of bad-hair days, family friction, changing friendships, love–and, yes, the Holocaust.

(summary via Goodreads)

This sounds like a middle-grade book to me, but I’m not sure.  There’s not a ton of information about it on Goodreads, and it’s definitely not going to be one of the feel-good hits of the spring.  But–but.  The Holocaust is something deeply important to me and my family, and I think it’s something that doesn’t get covered enough in books for young people.  So without worrying over how didactic this one is going to be, I’m going to look forward to it and can’t wait to read it.  The title is eye-catching and the premise is solid.  This is definitely one I’m going to go out of my way to get my hands on.

What are you waiting on this week?

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Lauren Yanofsky Hates the Holocaust by Leanne Lieberman

  1. I definitely want to read this book. WWII and the Holocaust is my “favorite” (not the right term for it) time period in history in terms of fascination and information. I can’t learn enough. I’ll be interested to see how this book tackles it, especially in light of how often we see celebs (or PRINCES!) playing Nazi officer in real life. It’s frightening.

Leave a Reply

