Movie News and Blather

Time for another installment of movie news and blather, where I bring you all the movie news that’s fit to print (or at least what I find interesting).  Without further ado or preamble, let’s get right into it!

1. Nick Offerman stars in Somebody Up There Likes Me

The trailer for Nick Offerman’s indie movie Somebody Up There Likes Me is live.  The movie is being released in limited theaters soon and will be available On Demand shortly after that.  The film also stars Jess Weixler and Offerman’s real-life wife, Megan Mullally.

2. Jessica Alba to star in Weightless

The film is about astronaut Maysie Overall, a woman who always dreamed of becoming an astronaut and visiting space.  Alba is in final negotiations to star in the film.  I don’t know why this is news, because odds are the movie won’t be well-received and Alba will give a lackluster performance, but she’s just so pretty and she tries so hard.  I can’t help but like her.  (Comingsoon.net)

3. Leviathan trailer looks incredible

This is all about fishing and whaling, and it looks to be totally mesmerizing.  The documentary also looks to be really upsetting.  I have really complicated feelings about what’s happening in the oceans, and this documentary looks like it’s going to only add to my conflicted feelings.

4. There’s going to be a documentary about the conspiracy theories surrounding Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining, and I’m excited.

The film is entitled Room 237, and it will be released March 29th.  I didn’t even know this was a thing, but now I can’t wait. (Metacritic)

5. The Fault in Our Stars movie should begin filming this summer.

Did you know it was being made into a movie?  Have I posted about this before?  I can’t remember any more, so forgettable and obvious is this news.  Anyway, it’s got a very commercial production team and is guaranteed to make some good money at the box office, whoever they get to star in it.  I don’t know.  I’ll see this, because I’m a sucker and because I can’t help but be manipulated, but at least I know I’m being manipulated…right? (MTV’s Hollywood Crush)

What movie news did you hear about this week?

Leave a Reply

