pop culture

Movie News and Blather

Time for another installment of movie news and blather, where I bring you all the movie news that’s fit to print (or at least what I find interesting).  Without further ado or preamble, let’s get right into it!

1. Spring Breakers Trailer looks just like you’d expect it to.

I’m not going to lie: this movie looks dumb.  It looks really, really stupid.  But it’s getting some buzz because it’s Selena Gomez’s first R-rated movie, and she’s been very vocal about making sure parents know it’s not for kids.  Well, duh.  I don’t even know if I’ll see it, but I do like some of the other people in it.  Plus, James Franco doing a weirdly accurate impression of what I can only assume is Kevin Federline? It looks so awful, though!  What do you think?

2. If I Stay is definitely going to be a movie, and it has a lead actress now.

MTV’s Hollywood Crush is reporting that Chloe Grace-Moretz has been cast as the lead in the adaptation of Gayle Forman’s If I Stay movie.  I didn’t love this book as much as a lot of other people, but I’ll definitely be checking out the movie, whenever it ends up getting released. (HollywoodCrush)

3. The Brass Teapot Trailer looks ridiculous, entertaining.

I’m not a huge fan of violence in movies in general, even when it’s a little slapstick, but this one looks interesting.  A couple down on their luck discovers a magic teapot that gives them money whenever they hurt themselves.  It’s a totally weird concept, but it’s got an interesting cast and looks like it might actually be funny.  I’ll definitely be checking this one out.

4. Anne Hathaway is going to be in The Taming of the Shrew

According to The Wrap, Anne Hathaway, she of the polarizing celebrities, has been tapped to play Kate in an adaptation of the Taming of the Shrew.  This is my favorite Shakespeare play of all time, so of course I’ll be seeing it, but I know that everyone and their mother will have an opinion about Hathaway taking on the role of the persnickety heroine. (The Wrap)

5. New trailer for The End of Love

This film, written and directed by Mark Webber, is about the relationship between a man and his young son after the death of the child’s mother.  Webber stars in the movie, and it features his real-life child.  The film also has Shannyn Sossamon, Aubrey Plaza, and Amanda Seyfried.  It definitely looks a little earnest and even the trailer seems to meander a bit, but that doesn’t mean I won’t watch it, because I will.

Leave a Reply

