Movie News and Blather

It’s time for another installment of movie news, where I bring you the latest-ish news about movies.  Are you ready?

1. Fairhaven trailer looks interesting

Have you guys seen the trailer for Fairhaven?  It stars my boyfriend Chris Messina and Sarah Paulson and looks to be an interesting, if maybe a little uneven, independent movie.  I hadn’t heard of it before I stumbled across it on the iTunes site, but I’ll definitely be checking it out.

2. The Oscar nominations have been announced.

Everyone’s got an opinion on what got nominated, what shouldn’t have been nominated, and what was totally overlooked.  I certainly have my opinions (and I ranted a little on Twitter about it), but so does everyone else.  Metacritic does a nice roundup of the nominations and what it all means. Comingsoon.net has another take.

3. Side Effects trailer looks chilling, potentially cliche

I remember seeing the trailer for Side Effects a few weeks ago, but I put it out of my mind.  I rediscovered it when I was prepping this post, and I decided to feature the trailer since it features some people I really like.  Despite my rational sense, I really like Channing Tatum, and I kind of like how bad Rooney Mara is at giving interviews (though I still prefer her sister).  This one looks fairly predictable but might be fun.

4. Y: The Last Man movie adds director, gets me all a-flutter.

The movie has been in development for what seems like forever, but has recently added a director: Dan Trachtenberg.  I can’t wait to see how this movie ends up working, because the graphic novels are some of my favorite things in the entire world.  In fact, it’s probably time for a re-read. (comingsoon.net)

5. I Give it a Year Trailer looks British, silly

I’m not sure about this one, you guys, but I really like Minnie Driver and Rose Byrne (but is Minnie Driver supposed to be someone’s mother?)  It’s got some silly gags in the trailer and looks wholly predictable, but that doesn’t mean my mom and I won’t totally eat this one up at the theater (or as a rental).  What do you think?

What are you looking forward to, movie-wise?  What did I miss in this installment?

 

Leave a Reply

