Waiting on Wednesday: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Expected Release Date: June 4, 2013

Set in the fictional beach town of Colby, where several of Dessen’s novels take place, it features 18-year-old Emmeline, who is spending her last summer before college working for her family’s vacation rental business and enjoying a summer romance with a young aspiring filmmaker.

(summary via Goodreads)

Okay, you guys.  I like Sarah Dessen.  Her early books are some of my favorites, and I think she’s definitely to be credited with the rise of contemporary YA.  I think she’s crafted some really thoughtful, powerful stories featuring strong female narrators.

But. But. But.  There’s a formula to her writing.  This one is no different, and totally fits the classic Dessen formula.  Does that mean I don’t want to read it?  Of course not!  I’m excited about revisiting the town of Colby and seeing what Dessen has to offer this time.

I do, however, wish the cover wasn’t so generic.  Also, could Dessen’s name be any bigger?  I think not.

What are you waiting on this week?

Leave a Reply

