books and reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Expected release date: January 8, 2013

When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

(summary via Goodreads)

Although I enjoyed both of Forman’s books about Mia, I didn’t love them the way some people did.  At any rate, I’m willing to admit that Forman is a big name in YA (I mean, just look at how big her name is in comparison to the book’s title), and that people who love contemporary YA novels (hi) have to keep her on their radar.

It helps that this one looks really great and really compelling.  Do I wish the cover was a little less generic?  Of course I do.  But this is the kind of whirlwind romance YA that I just eat up.  It’ll be a great read come January, when all I want to do is sit under a blanket and drink tea.

What are you waiting on this week?

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

  1. This sure has been a popular pick lately! I’m not a fan of the overused blurry cover but the book itself does sound interesting. Thanks for sharing! ^.^ If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday you can do so here. 🙂

  2. Yesterday was the first time I read the summary of the book and I loved it. I was trying to avoid the book for some unknown to me reason but I gave up and now I have it on my to-read list… It sounds great. I hope you like it when you get the chance to read it. Great pick!
    Come check out my WOW post.

Leave a Reply

