books and reading

Waiting on Wednesday: Golden by Jessi Kirby

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.  Its purpose is to spotlight eagerly-anticipated upcoming releases.

This week I’m eagerly awaiting:

Golden by Jessi Kirby

Expected release date: May 14, 2013

Seventeen-year-old Parker Frost may be a distant relative of Robert Frost, but she has never taken the road less traveled. Valedictorian and quintessential good girl, she’s about to graduate high school without ever having kissed her crush or broken the rules. So when fate drops a mystery in her lap—one that might be the key to uncovering the truth behind a town tragedy, she decides to take a chance.

(summary via Goodreads)

I do love me a good contemporary YA about a good girl attempting to break free of whatever shackles she imagines are holding her back.  I also really like Kirby’s writing, so this one already has two things going for it.  Why are all the books I want coming out in May, though?

The cover could be better, I guess.  It’s all fairly generic.  Also, did anyone else find themselves bothered by the fact that the novel’s tag line is straight outta a New Found Glory song?  Just me?  Okay, then.*

What are you waiting on this week?

 

 

 

* I realize the tag line is actually from a Frost poem, but pop culture is the place my brain defaults to.

8 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Golden by Jessi Kirby

  1. I love Jessi Kirby and this does sound really good, even without her name on it! I’ll be reading it. It reminds me of that poem from the Outsiders. Nature’s first green is gold… etc.

    1. Haha, of course it is. My barely literate brain immediately equates it with a mediocre emo band from the early aughts. Thanks for the heads up, though.

Leave a Reply

